Best ayurveda centers in Kerala

The concept is claimed to be useful in predicting an individual’s susceptibility to a particular disease, prognosis of that illness and selection of therapy.

Three main doshas are described, viz. vata, pitta and kapha. Kapha dosha is the “anabolic”, synthetic dosha, responsible for growth and maintenance of structure. The pitta dosha is the one responsible for metabolism, including digestion in the gut, and cellular or sub-cellular metabolism. Vata dosha is responsible for movement (muscular, nervous energy etc.).

According to Ayurveda following are the factors, which determine the prakriti of the foetus: Time and season during the conception., Doshic dominance in the uterus, Condition of the sperm and ovum, Maternal food and lifestyle.We provide best ayurvedic treatment services in kovalam,kerala.

Know Your Body Type Ayurveda ? ? ?


Take the Quiz

Kovalam ayurveda resort

We Calculate Your Test Results

Ayurveda resort in kovalam,kerala

Unlock Your Path to Health

Ayurveda treatments in kovalam, kerala

Types of Prakriti

Prakriti is of two types: Sharirika Prakriti, Manasika Prakriti.There are seven types of sharirika prakriti based on permutation and combination of doshas:

  • Vata Prakriti
  • Pitta Prakriti
  • Kapha Prakriti
  • Vata-Pitta Prakriti
  • Pitta-Kapha Prakriti
  • Kapha-Vata Prakriti
  • Tridosha- Vata Ptta Kapha Prakriti

Three types of manasika prakriti based on three gunas: Saatvika, rajasika. Tamasika.

Take The Ayurveda Body Type Quiz

Examination of a person (Pareeksa)

Ayurvedic test or Pariksha is an important clinical tool for assessment of the disease and strength of patient.Test aimed at identifying the dosha disturbance. For example, a person with hot, flushed skin and symptoms such as burning sensations, fever, digestive disorders or urinary infections has a disturbance of pitta energy.

Dry, cracked, rough skin that is cold indicates an imbalance of vata energy. Fluid retention, swelling, moist skin, dull pain, watery eyes and chest congestion etc are indicators of imbalance kapha energy.Examinations helps to obtain knowledge regarding the life strength and intensity of morbidity and life span. Pareeksha helps to arrive at proper diagnosis by understanding the condition of the patient.

Ayurvedic Centre in kovalam,kerala

Trividha pareeksha (3 – fold examination)

Darsana pareeksha (examination by observations)

This is a systematic observation that may provide clues to the cause and duration of the illness. A sharp observation of the patient’s gait, physique and appearance conveys a lot of information about his general condition. This is called “darsana pariksa “.

Sparsana pareeksha (examination by touch)

This examination is done by touching patient (sparsa). We can assess the temperature of the body, feel the margins of swellings in skin, read and note the characteristics of pulse, or check for organ enlargements etc with touch.

Prasna pareeksha (examination by interrogation)

For an overall picture of the illness, a detailed interrogation of the patient and some family member or relative is necessary. This is “prasna pariksa” (prasna means question).

Dashavidha pareeksha (10 – fold examination)

“Dashavidha Pareeksha” or the ten -fold method of patient examination that includes the following ten factors. The patient should be examined with

  • Prakriti – prakriti refers to the natural state of physical and emotional body condition of a person.
  • Vikriti– vikriti is the vitiation of prakriti. The state of vikriti is identified by closely examining the dhatu, mala, and the emotional control of the person.
  • Sara – Sara refers to the quality of sapta (seven) dhatus (body tissues). The conditions of body tissues are classified as pravara (good), madhyama (medium) and avara (poor).
  • Samhanana – samhanana refers to the physique of the person. A compact body shape usually suggests a healthy body. Too much lean or obese body are considered as unhealthy.
  • Pramana – pramana or examining body proportion involves assessing the relationship between the lengths of spread arms and the height of the person.
  • Vyayamashakti (or strength for exercise) is the strength of the person for physical exertion
  • Satmya – adaptability measurement. It is a process of measuring the capabilities of the person to physically or mentally adapt to changing conditions.
  • Sattva – checking mental balance. It is the capability of the person to continue doing what is required of him without giving heed to distractions – both physical and mental.
  • Ahara Shakti – it is the power of digestion, this test involves checking the metabolic capacity of the person, to take, digest and absorb food in to the body.
  • Vaya – Ayurvedic physician compares the actual age of the person with his or her apparent age.